Rutabaga Fries with Avocado Sauce

Fries that aren’t potatoes?! Yes!! So on Instagram I follow a few healthy food accounts and one of the posts was on Rutabaga fries and all their health benefits!

If you haven’t guessed already, Rutabagas are not a type of potato, but are actually from the turnip family. They’re very low in calories, but have such a similar taste to potatoes, its insane!

I wanted to take the healthiness of the Rutabaga to the next level by pairing the fries with an avocado sauce instead of eating it with ketchup.


For this you’ll need:

  • 1 Rutabaga
  • Avocado
  • Plain Greek Yogurt
  • Garlic
  • Cilantro
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Lime
  • Water

Step 1:

Peel the rutabaga and then proceed to chop it into the desired shape, whether it be fries, wedges, or even cubes.

***RUTABAGAS ARE NOT EASY TO CHOP, YOU WILL EITHER NEED TO BE REALLY STRONG, OR KNOW SOMEONE REALLY STRONG*** (and a sharp knife :P)

Step 2:

Once you’ve conquered the cutting of the rutabaga, (my mom helped me cause I wasn’t able to cut it without almost injuring myself lol….) throw them on an oven-safe tray and drizzle avocado oil on it. You can stop there, or you can season the rutabaga fries with cajun powder and oregano (like I did!) Bake for around 30-40 minutes, or until fork-tender.

Step 3:

Place the rutabagas in the oven, and then start on your avocado creamy sauce. The exact measurements are in the link below, but basically throw all the ingredients together in a food processor until it is well blended.

**TIP: It says in the recipe to use 1 clove of garlic… DO NOT USE 1 CLOVE. Use half a clove, or even a quarter. My goodness, all I could taste from the sauce was the garlic, and I’m someone who is used to garlic due to the Arab cuisine that I am accustom to. ***

Take the rutabagas out of the oven and serve with the sauce! I hope your sauce isn’t basically garlic sauce 🙂

Until next time! I promise the next post will be a dessert 😉

Recipe Source:Avocado Sauce –  http://www.cookincanuck.com/2013/09/sweet-potato-hash-recipe-with-creamy-california-avocado-sauce/

Leave a Reply

