French Macarons w/ Raspberry Buttercream Filling

Quand il me prend dans ses bras

Il me parle tous bas

Je vois la vie en rose

Il me dit des mots d’amour

Des mots de tous les jours

Et ca me fait quelque chose


Ahhh Edith Piaf’s La Vie en Rose… every time I listen to it I get transported to Paris, strolling down the city of love’s narrow streets, and entering a bakery to pick up the super sweet yet delicate French macarons.

(FYI – I have never been to Paris, sadly ๐Ÿ˜ฆ it’s definitely #1 on my travel list)

If you couldn’t tell from the picture, this baking adventure, was really quite the adventure, as French macarons are known to not be the easiest dessert to make, especially for a relatively baking beginner.

No they’re not pancakes, nor McDonald’s cheeseburgers….

I came across a recipe/video on YouTube, which I will link at the bottom of this post, and it was probably the main reason that I didn’t further mess up my macarons. (They tasted good, I swear :P)ย 


Here are the ingredients you need! Surprisingly when I searched my kitchen cupboards, I actually had all of them #luckyme

***Exact measurements you can find in the recipe that I link at the end of the post***

  • 3 egg whites (I learned that I do not know how to separate eggs…)
  • Almond flour
  • Icing sugar OR powdered sugar OR confectioner’s sugar (it all means the same thing, ALSO you will need TONS of this)
  • Regular sugar
  • Pinch of salt
  • Food colouring (So I used red to make them pink…they look more pink-brown, so use a lot!)

For the Raspberry Buttercream Filling

  • Butter
  • Powdered sugar (I told you that you need a lot…)
  • Fresh raspberries

Step 1:

Take your egg whites (which are at room temperature) and beat them until they’re really foamy. Once foamy, add the salt and powdered sugar and beat them until the mixture can form peaks that stand up straight. Add your food colouring, and make sure you add a lot or else the colour will fade and you’ll have a strange colour like I got…

Step 2:

Once your step 1 is complete, leave that mixture, and sift the proper amount of almond flour and powdered sugar together and mix them so they’re evenly mixed. Once that is completed, you can add it to the mixture from step 1, and then FOLD. This is a really important step, and I would recommend watching the video to see how much you should fold your mixture.

Personally, my mixture was too smooth and not as thick, so when I transferred the mixture to the plastic bag (instead of a pastry bag #DIY) the mixture came out faster, which is why my macarons were flatter and in strange shapes….

Step 3:

You guessed it! Transfer the mixture into the pastry bag and squeeze out circles onto parchment paper. Once you’ve done that, hit the pan 3 times on the counter to get rid of the air bubbles in your macarons. It’s kind of a strange thing to do, but it really does help.

Step 4:

Leave them to sit out for around 30 minutes or until they become dry so that when you touch them, no mixture transfers to your finger. Preheat your oven to 300 degrees (double check this), because if it’s too hot, it will overcook them and they won’t have the softness when you bite into them.

Step 5:

Place them in the oven for 20 minutes, I believe, and do NOT leave them past that, nor take them out before that.

Step 6:

While the macarons are baking, take this time to make your buttercream! Take the butter and beat it until its fluffy (I didn’t use the electric mixer, so it took much longer doing it by hand…I got nice arm muscles by that point)

Add the powdered sugar (MORE SUGAR!) to this and continue to beat. You could essentially stop here and just have a plain filling, but I decided to do what the lady in the video did and take some fresh raspberries and squeeze their juice and added them to the buttercream. And again, mix mix mix.

***You can really fill your macarons with anything you please, like Nutella, melted chocolate, ice cream… the list really goes on***

Step 7:

This is the easiest step, take out your macarons, and let them cool. Transfer the buttercream to your pastry bag (or plastic baggie if you don’t own one like me ahah) and squeeze them onto one of the macarons. Place an empty shell on top of one with the buttercream and voila! French Macarons!


While my result did not look aesthetically appealing, they did taste really really good!ย Not only my family tried them, but friends too and they said it was really good ๐Ÿ˜€

There are a few things I’m definitely going to try differently when I make them again and if you’re planning on attempting them, I would take the following into consideration:

  • Add a lot more food colouring
  • Add vanilla to the first mixture, so that the shells taste less like almonds
  • Make sure my eggs are at room temperature (because I broke some with the yolk, I had to take more out of the fridge and did not have a chance to let them sit outside to warm up)
  • Use an electronic mixer for the buttercream…ain’t nobody got time to hand mix butter ever again!

When I post about them again, I hope that I have a much better result to share with you all ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks again for reading!! Until the next adventure…

Recipe Source:ย https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xJ636Y8N6E8

Leave a Reply

