Banana Bread with Nutella Swirls

So the photos I took of the end result were only on my snapchat story, and I totally forgot to save them ūüė¶ Hence why the photo is a jar of Nutella, because it 100% made this recipe. Who doesn’t love Nutella?! I mean, I once came home from the gym and really wanted chocolate covered pretzels, but I only had regular pretzels and Nutella…so I dipped the pretzels in the Nutella jar. It was probably one of the best things I’ve ever done…(okay I’ve done this more than once)

So I came across a BuzzFeed article on Facebook about different recipes with Nutella in it. How awesome is that?!?! So the recipe I chose, I thought looked relatively easy to make and looked really good.

Even though its called “bread” I felt it was more like a cake, especially with the Nutella at the top, almost mimicking the taste of chocolate chip banana muffins!


For this recipe you’ll need:
*Disclaimer:¬†I won’t be putting the exact measurements, but more of a description of what I did, and what I could have done better if that is the case*

  • Butter (again, I used Becel/Margarine, because there was no butter, and it turned out fine)
  • Sugar
  • Brown Sugar
  • Eggs
  • Flour
  • Baking Soda
  • Vanilla extract (I used vanilla powder – same thing really)
  • Salt
  • Bananas
  • Nutella (the best ingredient, obviously)

Step 1:

Mix the butter and sugar together, until well mixed, then add the eggs until everything is mixed well.

Step 2:

In a second bowl, mix together the dry ingredients – the flour, baking soda and salt.

Step 3:

In a third  bowl, (many dishes to do in this recipe) mash the bananas and brown sugar together and add the vanilla. Again I had to break apart this huge clump of brown sugar 0_0

Step 4:

Add the dry mixture to the butter mixture, MIX, then add the banana mixture into this bowl and MIX. (I was going to write “Shake it like a Polaroid picture”, but realized it didn’t really make sense…)

Step 5:

Pour the mixture (that is now in one bowl) into the buttered pan. Once it is in, take the best part of this dessert (Nutella, if you didn’t catch on earlier) and swirl it into the top.

*To be honest, you can’t really¬†swirl Nutella on the top, since Nutella isn’t that liquid, and it gets stuck to the spoon…Mine was sort of clumps of Nutella, but the more the better, right?*

Pop it in the oven and voila! What a great dessert option, but is also great as an on-the-go breakfast, for those of us that work! (JK – still unemployed)

Hope you enjoyed this baking adventure, and if there’s any other fun recipes that use Nutella, definitely send them my way ūüôā

Recipe Source: http://www.alattefood.com/nutella-swirled-banana-bread/

Leave a Reply

