Apple Crisp

What can I say about apple crisp, other than that it is DELICIOUS! Also, so easy to make! Really easy in fact, that I’ve already made it twice, and I’ve only started my baking adventure 3 weeks ago.

Because it was the first time making it, I cut all the ingredients by half to make a smaller amount in case my family didn’t like it. That was definitely a mistake, my sister, my mom and I ate the whole apple crisp 30 minutes after I  took it out from the oven, that’s how savoury it was (or maybe we were just really hungry).


To make this easy yet amazing dessert, you’ll need:

  • 5-6 apples (1st time I’m not sure what I used, but the second time I used Granny Smith, and it turned out great)
  • Sugar
  • Cinnamon
  • Salt
  • Light brown sugar (my brown sugar was rock solid, so I had to use a Mortar and Pestle* (not sure what this is called in English, only in Arabic lol – I used google)
  • Uncooked rolled oats (I actually didn’t have this, so I used Granola instead, and I think it tasted better than it would have with Oats)
  • Flour
  • Butter

*All exact measurements can be found at the recipe link at the bottom of this post*

Step 1:

Peel and slice all of your apples around 1/4 – 1/2 inch thick and throw them in a bowl.

Step 2:

Add the sugar, salt and cinnamon to the apples and coat the apples with this mixture. Once coated, move the apples to the buttered pan you will be using in the oven. (My mother felt the need to add a shit ton of cinnamon, so just keep in mind, you don’t always need to follow the recipe to a T 😉 

Step 3:

Combine in the same bowl you were using before (yay – less dishes to wash!) the brown sugar, flour, salt and oats (or granola like I did). Mix them evenly.

Step 4:

Add chunks of butter and mix it with the mixture above to make a sticky streusel (the part on top of the crisp). Use as much as needed until theres no more powdery ingredients. (I actually used margarine/becel the first time I made it since I didn’t have any butter- and it worked just the same)

Step 5: 

Place your sticky mixture on top of the apples, and spread it around evenly. Pop it in the pre-heated oven until the crisp part is brown.

Voila! That is all you need to make this Apple Crisp! How easy was that? The second time around I paired it with some vanilla ice cream which made it that much tastier.

I hope you enjoyed this post, until the next one 🙂

Recipe Source: http://www.chow.com/recipes/11416-apple-crisp-with-oatmeal-streusel

Leave a Reply

